Irish academics support LSE students fight against corporatisation of education.

Students in the London School of Economics are occupying their college to demand a truly accessible education system and to demand workers rights for both non academic and academic.
Irish academics have written a letter of solidarity to LSE students, published below.
“As Irish academics, working both at home and abroad, we write to express our solidarity with the students currently occupying the London School of Economics. The insidious corporatisation that has consumed higher education in the UK over the last generation is a process with which we are becoming ever more familiar also in the Irish context. Both in the UK and in Ireland, we are being encouraged to treat our students as ‘customers’, to regard ourselves as ‘service providers’ and to deem everyone with whom we interact on campus as ‘stakeholders’. Never have we needed more urgently another model of what higher education might be – one guided by the pursuit of learning rather than the pursuit of profit, driven by free speech and radical enquiry rather than the often bogus metrics of ‘excellence’, and committed to creating a space in which everyone who teaches, works and learns is afforded the entitlement and responsibility of equality. The students who are presently occupying the LSE are committed to exploring the possibility that another university is possible and, for that, all of us who are concerned with the fate of higher education are in their debt.”
  • Harry Browne, DIT
  • Dr Colin Coulter, NUIM
  • Mairead Enright, University of Kent
  • Dr Clara Fischer, LSE/UCD
  • Dr Sinead Kennedy, NUIM
  • Eoin O’Mahony, St Patrick’s College/DCU
  • Dr Gavan Titley, NUIM
  • Dr Tina O’Toole, UL
  • Dr Audrey Bryan, St Patrick’s College/DCU
  • Prof Helena Sheehan, DCU
  • Henry Silke, DCU
  • Dr Alana Lentin, University of Sussex
  • Dr Conrad Brunstrom, NUIM
  • Dr Andy Storey, UCD
  • Goretti Horgan, University of Ulster
  • Dr Anne Mulhall, UCD
  • Dr Debbie Ging, DCU
  • Dr John O’Brennan, NUIM
  • Dr Pauline Cullen, NUIM
  • Dr Stephanie Rains, NUIM
  • Daragh Grant, University of Chicago
  • Dr Carmen Kuhling, UL
  • Sheamus Sweeney, DCU
  • Dr David Landy, TCD
  • Katie Moylan, University of Leicester
  • Tina Kinsella, TCD
  • Dr Karl Kitching, UCC
  • Marnie Holborow, DCU
  • Anwen Tormey, University of Chicago
  • Colm O’Cinneide, UCL
  • Dr Deirdre Hynes, Manchester Metropolitan University
  • Deaglán O’Donghaile, Liverpool John Moores University
  • Prof Tadhg Foley, NUIG
  • Dr Lionel Pilkington, NUIG
  • Dr Heather Laird, UCC
  • Dr Chandana Mathur, NUIM
  • Dr Conor McCarthy, NUIM
  • Dr Colmán Etchingham, NUIM
  • Claire Brophy, NUIM
  • Dr Koen Leurs, LSE
  • Fergal Treanor, University of Antwerp
  • Dr Myria Georgiou, LSE
  • Piia Lavila, University of Helsinki
  • Dr Roderick Flynn, DCU
  • Linnete Manrique, Goldmiths, University of London
  • Fergal Finnegan, NUIM
  • Nicholas Kiersey, Ohio University
  • Caoimhe Butterly, Kimmage Development Studies Centre
  • Anna Maria Mullally, ITT Dublin
  • Dr Illan rua Wall, University of Warwick
  • Dr Kylie Jarrett, NUIM
  • Dr Maureen O’Connor, UCC
  • Dr Patricia McManus, University of Brighton
  • Paloma Viejo, DCU
  • Aileen O’Carroll, NUIM
  • Dr Eugenia Siapera, DCU
  • Dr Bald de Vries, Utrecht University
  • Tina Askanius, Lund University
  • Raymond Deane, UCD
  • Dr Conor McCabe, UCD
  • Ntina Tzouvala, Durham University
  • Dr Cathy Bergin, University of Brighton
  • Dr Ronit Lentin, TCD
  • Prof Patricia Coughlan, UCC
  • Claire Bracken, Union College
  • Dr Mel Duffy, DCU
  • Prof Joseph Valente, University at Buffalo
  • Prof Lucy McDiarmid, Montclair State University
  • Dr Clare Hayes-Brady, UCD
  • Dr Fionnuala Dillane, UCD
  • Jane Grogan, UCD
  • Dr Graham Price, UCD
  • Dr Ellen McWilliams, University of Exeter
  • Dr Cliona O’Gallchoir, UCC
  • Dr Moynagh Sullivan, NUIM
  • Prof Gerardine Meaney, UCD
  • Dr Niamh Pattwell, UCD
  • Dr Charlotte McIvor, NUIG
  • Matthew Reznicek, Creighton University
  • Dr Sharae Deckard, UCD
  • Prof Margot Backus, University of Houston
  • Dr Susan Cahill, Concordia University
  • Prof Nicholas Daly, UCD
  • Prof Eithne Luibheid, University of Arizona

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial License.
Author avatar

Paula Geraghty

Journalist-Photography/video. Real people, real issues. Journalism of hope, about people who fight for a better world. @TradeUnion_TV Usual T&Cs apply

Read All Articles

Related Articles