古特奥蒂瓦坎网站 如上图所示,现在这个遗迹是下面一个沃尔玛。沃尔玛破坏了墨西哥的文化遗产以盈利为目的。 考古学家给出了她的看法。 – 唐娜·耶茨博士 作为一个考古学家,我欢迎 RADE工会在加拿大,美国和墨西哥正在准备抗议和采取法律行动,沃尔玛墨西哥子公司” 。这2400万美元的贿赂,据称,沃尔玛代表支付建店在特奥蒂瓦坎是可悲的,但在事后,有很大的意义。这需要付出很大的代价。因为它看来,它也需要很多钱。不过,我相信沃尔玛觉得这是值得的:如果只有一小部分的每年250万游客走进沃尔玛大门,他们会轻易收回 …

800px-Mexico_SunMoonPyramid

古特奥蒂瓦坎网站

如上图所示,现在这个遗迹是下面一个沃尔玛。沃尔玛破坏了墨西哥的文化遗产以盈利为目的。

考古学家给出了她的看法。

– 唐娜·耶茨博士

作为一个考古学家,我欢迎 RADE工会在加拿大,美国和墨西哥正在准备抗议和采取法律行动,沃尔玛墨西哥子公司” 。这2400万美元的贿赂,据称,沃尔玛代表支付建店在特奥蒂瓦坎是可悲的,但在事后,有很大的意义。这需要付出很大的代价。因为它看来,它也需要很多钱。不过,我相信沃尔玛觉得这是值得的:如果只有一小部分的每年250万游客走进沃尔玛大门,他们会轻易收回自己的“投资” 。

而这不是重点,我们想讨论企业传承腐败。纽约时报“贿赂暴露的水平会高得离谱,但是在任何情况下,这不只是任何情况下,这是特奥蒂瓦坎。特奥蒂瓦坎是美洲最强大和最有影响力的文化复合体之一。这是在世界上最大的城市之一,在其鼎盛时期。它被联合国教科文组织列为世界遗产,目的是要为全人类的文化遗产保存。

现在它的下面是一个沃尔玛。这是位于特奥蒂瓦坎约50公里的地方。即使西班牙征服前,该地方是一个令人回味的地方一片废墟,笼罩在民族主义下的神话。特奥蒂瓦坎是一个神圣的地方,是不应该被任何商业化的东西玷污的。

我们所知道的来自广泛的考古发掘,玛雅文化的识字邻近的书面记录,甚至是该地区各国人民的本土深厚的文化记忆。特奥蒂瓦坎是公元5世纪,大规模和广阔的城市是:它涵盖了超过36万公里。根据一些估计,超过200,000人。内置Teotihuacanos巨大结构(太阳金字塔) ,他们开发了创新的土地复垦计划,并有显着的证据表明,特奥蒂瓦坎是一个经过严密规划的城市。这个城市似乎已经超过该地区的影响力有显着通过广泛的贸易网络,政治连接(虽然Teotihuacanos是一些最强大的玛雅王朝的创始) ,和源源不断的有说服力的意象。所有这一切都像没有开发的车轮,有待揭秘。

今天的特奥蒂瓦坎既美丽又闻名。大约每年有2.5亿人参观特奥蒂瓦坎,根据进行的墨西哥国立研究所人类学和历史调查显示,特奥蒂瓦坎每一天都会接待游客20至30组。它不仅是一个考古遗址,没有任何现代价值。它是一个活生生的过去纪念碑,它向所有墨西哥人和其他外国人显示,我们是谁,我们将在未来的什么地方。

抗议沃尔玛的发展
因此,当消息传出,这里将要建一个沃尔玛商店。特奥蒂瓦坎考古界变得非常担心。考古学家常常发现他们的很难解释给外人他们在做什么。只是因为特奥蒂瓦坎的核心是巨大的,可见,并不意味着考古学停在寺庙的边缘。相反,它延伸在地面之下,在各个方向上等待被揭露和研究。仅仅因为你不能看到它并不意味着它不存在。

伊拉克巴比伦遗址特别值得一提的例子。虽然一些网站的破坏是明显和最重要的遗址,至少有一些破坏,显然,由于美国军队被挖战壕和重型车辆停放严重破坏了当地遗迹和重要历史线索。

正是这种商业风险,很难说服规划部门保护历史遗迹。更糟的是,这是一般人住在这些领域:人民是谁建的巨大的金字塔,而不是谁的人居住在其中。现实生活中,工人,农民,手工艺,日常的考古学是最难保存。

沃尔玛墨西哥

听说当考古学家在工地附近的沃尔玛店被打开,我们认为, “在这里,我们又来了” 。数学看似简单:特奥蒂瓦坎覆盖36平方公里的,正在兴建的沃尔玛仅1公里,从保存完好的旅游公园,特奥蒂瓦坎的太阳金字塔和2.4公里。沃尔玛正在建造特奥蒂瓦坎。我们被吓坏了,但我们和我们的支持者无力停止施工。考古学家被指控在进步的方式,防止这种新的就业机会的区域(不要介意本地国有企业所面临的威胁)是不合理的。也许我们唯一的方式是向别人付费。

在特奥蒂瓦坎的建设,沃尔玛在网站上采取了收费。即使特奥蒂瓦坎被联合国教科文组织列为世界遗产,教科文组织指出,它并没有被告知,沃尔玛正在兴建,一个潜在的违反与网站相关的保护计划。早在2005年(一年后沃尔玛的建设) ,教科文组织已派出技术团队,审查施工,并评估现场损坏。 2005年的报告指出,没有重大的考古遗迹被摧毁在施工沃尔玛(但是,召回考古遗址常人通常被归类为’微不足道’ ),然而,其设置与视觉的完整性的财产会受到严重损害。 “

根据联合国教科文组织,墨西哥未能充分解决这个问题。在2007年,世界遗产委员会要求墨西哥提交考古遗址管理计划,他们就未提交,而在2008年提交了一份报告“包含很少关于当前形势下,解决世界遗产委员”的要求。 2009年的一项由墨西哥向联合国教科文组织提交的报告也“不包含关于当前的情况及财产状况的实质性信息,相关的跨部门工作小组,发展失控的影响,从而不响应由世界遗产委员会提出的所有问题“ 。一个管理计划终于在2010年提交,并在实施这一计划在2012年提交的一份报告。注意在此报告的声明说:“没有挖掘或向公众开放地区需要更强的限制,以减轻恶化所产生的垃圾堆积,结构的磨损和破坏” 。 8年之前,沃尔玛是建立在这样一个地区。

我分享周围的腐败指控,涉及这一丑闻的愤怒,但是我希望读者不会失去什么,我们可能已经失去了什么。工人工会的领袖国家人类学和历史研究所的状态,路易斯·加尔维斯表示,沃尔玛在特奥蒂瓦坎是对墨西哥的“罪行” 。我会争辩说,它不止于此。这是一个对我们共同的文化遗产的罪行。大家可以去观赏,可以爬上太阳神殿看墨西哥谷地和想象的庞大的古城,涂上鲜艳的色彩和闪耀在中美洲太阳,而不是去看沃尔玛商场。

消息来源于劳动调查中心( CILAS ),墨西哥的工会研究中心

– 唐娜·耶茨博士是对贩运文化项目在格拉斯哥的苏格兰中心大学研究古文物走私和文物犯罪在拉美的犯罪和司法研究所的博士后研究员。

你可以在twitter上关注她的博客。


This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial License.
Author avatar

Donna Yates

Archaeologist in a criminology dept, I study antiquities trafficking, archaeology, & art crime. Not your average antiquarian. I banjo. Own views @CultureTraffic

Read All Articles

This post is also available in: 英语

Mexico

Walmart destroys the cultural heritage of Mexico

The Pyramid of The Sun and Avenue of The Dead, viewed from the top of Pyramid of The Moon, are the symbol of Teotihuacán in Mexico.

The Pyramid of The Sun and Avenue of The Dead, viewed from the top of Pyramid of The Moon, are the symbol of Teotihuacán in Mexico.

Part of the ancient Teotihuacán site, pictured above, is now underneath a Walmart. Walmart destroys Mexico’s cultural heritage for profit. An archaeologist gives her view.

- By Dr Donna Yates

As an archaeologist, I welcome the news that “[t]rade unions in Canada, the United States and Mexico are preparing protests and legal action against the Mexican subsidiary of Walmart” . That $24 million in bribes was allegedly paid by Walmart representatives to built the store at Teotihuacán is sad, but, in hindsight, makes a lot of sense. It takes a lot of gall to wilfully risk a country’s most beloved heritage site and, as it seems, it takes a lot of money too. However, I am sure Walmart felt it was worth it: if only a fraction of the 2.5 million annual visitors to Teotihuacán walk through Walmart’s doors, they would have easily recouped their ‘investment’.

Instead of focusing on corporate financial corruption at Teotihuacán, I would like to discuss corporate heritage corruption. The level of bribery exposed by the New York Times would be outrageous in any context, however this is not just any context, this is Teotihuacán. Teotihuacán was one of the most powerful and influential cultural complexes of the Americas. It was one of the largest cities in the world during its heyday. It is a UNESCO World Heritage Site, meant to be preserved as the cultural heritage of all humanity.

Now a portion of it is underneath a Walmart.

Teotihuacán, which is located only about 50km from Mexico City, has become an important symbol of Mexican identity. Even before the Spanish Conquest, the site as a ruin was an evocative place shrouded in nationalistic foundation mythology. As of yet, we do not know what the builders of the site called their own city, however the Aztec name for the place, Teotihuacán (which means something along the lines of “place where the gods were born”), displays the holiness, wonder, and importance of the site.

Lack of written records shroud Teotihuacán in mystery. What we do know comes from extensive archaeological excavations, the written records of the literate neighbouring Maya cultures, and even the deep cultural memories of the native peoples of the region. Teotihuacán was massive and by the 5th century AD, the city was sprawling: it covered over 36 square km and housed, based on some estimates, over 200,000 people. The Teotihuacanos built tremendous structures (the Pyramid of the Sun, for example, is 225 m across and 75 m tall), they developed innovative land reclamation schemes, and there is significant evidence that Teotihuacán was a planned city: purposefully laid out on a grid and zoned. The city appears to have had a significant influence over the region via extensive trade networks, political connections (it is though that Teotihuacanos were the founders of some of the most powerful Maya dynasties), and a outpouring of persuasive iconography. All of this without having developed the wheel, without any beasts of burden, and without the written word.

The Teotihuacan of today is both beautiful and popular.  Around 2.5 million people visit Teotihuacán each year and, according to a study conducted by the Mexican National Institute of Anthropology and History (INAH), on Teotihuacan’s busiest day of the year, controlled groups of 20 to 30 tourists visit the Pyramid of the Sun every 5 minutes. It is not a remote archaeological site without modern value. It is not an ugly ruin standing in the way of progress. It is a living monument to the past, a place for Mexicans and foreigners to reflect on who we were, who we are, and where we are going in the future.

A protest against the Walmart development

A protest against the Walmart development

Thus when the word got out in 2003/4 that a Walmart store was to be built “near” to Teotihuacán, the archaeological community became extremely worried. We archaeologists often find our discipline difficult to explain to outsiders, specifically outsiders with an unyielding eye for unnuanced commercial development. Just because the core of Teotihuacán is massive and visible, doesn’t mean that the archaeology stops at the edge of the temple. Rather it extends, under the ground, in all directions, hidden from view but waiting to be exposed and studied. Just because you can’t see it doesn’t mean it is not there.

A particularly cringe-worthy example of this is the US Army’s use of the Iraqi site of Babylon. While some of the damage to the site was to visible and important ruins, at least some of the destruction was, apparently, due to a misunderstanding of the site map. Trenches were dug and heavy vehicles were parked in areas that, visually, looked empty but were actually within the ancient city walls. Such activity destabilised the previously-preserved underground archaeological remains and caused destruction that we are not even able to assess.

It is this periphery, these outer zones of sites, that are most at risk for destruction from development. It is difficult to convince planning authorities to protect this kind of past simply because people cannot believe what they cannot directly see. Even worse, it is in these areas that the average people lived: the people who built the massive pyramids, not the people who lived in them. The archaeology of real life, of workers, of farmers, of craftspeople, of the everyday is the hardest to preserve. It gets paved over and destroyed.

Walmart Mexico

When archaeologists heard that a Walmart store was being opened near the site we thought “here we go again”. The maths seems simple: Teotihuacán covered 36 square km at its peak. The Walmart was being built only 1 km from the preserved tourist park of Teotihuacán and 2.4 km from the Pyramid of the Sun. The Walmart was being built on Teotihuacán. We were horrified but we, and our supporters were powerless to stop the construction. Archaeologists were accused of being in the way of progress, of preventing this new source of jobs to the area (never mind the threat to both locally-owned business and to the massive number of people employed at the archaeological park), of being unreasonable. Now it has been alleged that the construction was the result of significant corruption on the part of both Walmart and local officials. Perhaps the only thing we were standing in the way of was someone’s pay-off.

The construction of the Walmart at Teotihuacán has taken a toll on the site. Even though Teotihuacán is a UNESCO World Heritage Site, UNESCO has stated that it was not informed that the Walmart was being constructed, a potential breach of the preservation plan associated with the site. As early as 2005 (the year after the construction of the Walmart), UNESCO has sent technical teams to review the construction and to assess site damage. A 2005 report states that no significant archaeological remains were destroyed during the construction of the Walmart (but, recall, the archaeological remains of everyday people are usually classed as ‘insignificant’), “however, the visual integrity of the property with its setting can be compromised affecting its associated symbolic values.”

The Walmart is visible from the top of the Pyramid of the Sun.

According to UNESCO, Mexico has failed to adequately address this issue. In 2007 Mexico “did not submit the design, adoption and implementation of the integrated Archaeological Site Management Plan as requested by the World Heritage Committee in 2005”. They failed to submit a plan in 2008, rather submitted a report that “contains little new substantive information concerning the current situation to address the requests of the World Heritage Committee”. A 2009 report submitted to UNESCO by Mexico also “does not contain substantive information concerning the current status of the property, the intersectorial working group related to the impacts of uncontrolled development, and thus does not respond to all the issues raised by the World Heritage Committee”. A management plan was finally submitted in 2010 and a report on the implementation of this plan was submitted in 2012. Of note in this report is the statement that “access to areas not excavated or closed to the public need stronger restrictions to mitigate deterioration generated by accumulation of trash, structural wear and vandalism”. Eight years before a Walmart was built on just such an area.

I share in the outrage surrounding the allegations of corruption involved in this scandal, however I urge readers to not lose sight of what we may have lost. Luis Gálvez, a leader of the workers’ union of the state National Institute of Anthropology and History, has stated that the Walmart at Teotihuacan is an “offence against Mexico”. I would contend that it is more than that. It is an offence against our shared cultural heritage. Everyone who visits the site, everyone who climbs the Temple of the Sun to look out over the Valley of Mexico and imagine the vast ancient city, painted bright colours and sparkling in the Central American sun will either have to pretend not to see the Walmart or ask themselves why it is there.

That certainly isn’t what I would have wanted.

More

 - Dr Donna Yates is a postdoctoral researcher on the Trafficking Culture project at the University of Glasgow’s Scottish Centre for Crime and Justice Research studying antiquities trafficking and heritage crime in Latin America. You can follow her on twitter or read her blog.

Sign the UNi Global Union petition demanding respect for Walmart workers around the world.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

lovingly designed and powered by Mass1

Switch to our mobile site